

Town of Whitby Office of the Town Clerk 575 Rossland Road East, Whitby, ON L1N 2M8 www.whitby.ca

November 29, 2019

Via Email: Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing <u>steve.clark@pc.ola.org</u>

Re: Gas Tax Funds

Please be advised that at a meeting held on November 25, 2019, the Council of the Town of Whitby adopted the following as Resolution # 322-19:

Whereas Canada has responded to the climate change emergency through commitments to a zero carbon future;

And Whereas there are global and national shifts in reducing greenhouse gas emissions from transportation by reducing reliance on fossil fuel powered vehicles; and,

And Whereas the Gas Tax Funds, which are permanent and much valued sources of funding for municipal infrastructure priorities, derives funding from fossil-fuel taxation, the use of which will be reduced in the coming years as dependence on them decreases. Now therefore be it resolved:

- 1. That the Council of the Town of Whitby requests the Federal Government and Provincial Government ensure that funding for municipalities through their Gas Tax Funds remains sustainable to facilitate effective service delivery and infrastructure maintenance by having the funds supplemented through means other than the taxation of gas and diesel;
- 2. That the Federal Government and Provincial Government consider renaming their Gas Tax Funds to reflect more sustainable sources of funding;
- 3. That the Federal Government and Provincial Government consider providing a set dollar amount or an increasing percentage of revenue to municipalities as the reliance on fossil fuels is reduced; and,
- 4. That the Clerk be directed to circulate this resolution to the Region of Durham, Durham Region local municipalities, MPP Lorne Coe, MP Ryan Turnbull, AMO and FCM.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the Planning and Development Department at 905.430.4306.

Kevin Narraway Manager of Legislative Services/Deputy Clerk

Copy: R. Saunders, Commissioner of Planning and Development

M.P. Ryan Turnbull - <u>Ryan.Turnbull@parl.gc.ca</u>
M.P.P. Lorne Coe - <u>lorne.coe@pc.ola.org</u>
Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk, Region of Durham - <u>clerks@durham.ca</u>
Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) (General)
<u>amo@amo.on.ca</u>
Federation of Canadian Municipalities - <u>info@fcm.ca</u>
N. Cooper, Director of Legislative and Information services, Town of Ajax - <u>Nicole.cooper@ajax.ca</u>
B. Jamieson, Township of Brock - <u>bjamieson@townshipofbrock.ca</u>

A. Greentree, Municipal Clerk, Municipality of Clarington - clerks@clarington.net

M. Medeiros, City Clerk, City of Oshawa - mmedeiros@oshawa.ca

S. Cassel, City Clerk, City of Pickering – <u>clerks@pickering.ca</u>

J. Newman, Municipal Clerk, Township of Scugog - inewman@scugog.ca

D. Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge - dleroux@town.uxbridge.on.ca